Goals · Physical Fitness

La. Marathon Training: Week 1

Kayla and I decided on the Run Less, Run Faster 16-week marathon plan, with a few minor adjustments.  I had been running 2-3 times each week leading up to the official start, but I must say I was still a little nervous to get started! Here’s a recap of the first week:

Sunday: 2 mile run as part of a triathlon relay team

Monday: 3×1600 track workout.  The goal was 11mins/mile, but we hit: 10:55, 10:45, 10:43.  Not bad for our first-ever track workout, but I certainly plan to keep working on the consistency!

Tuesday: Cross-train.  30 mins on the bike plus weights.  It had been far too long since I lifted and I felt the burn from that session for days!

Wednesday: Tempo run – 2 mile warmup, 2 miles at 11:35/mile, and 2 mile cool down.  This run ended up being 5.6 miles, but I hit the tempo miles at 11:36 and 11:35 and felt amazing!

Thursday: “rest.”  I’m at school from 7am – 10pm on Thursdays, so to add a workout would be brutal!

Friday: 3 easy miles and some ab work

Saturday: Red River Revel Run 15k – 9.3miles in 2:01.  My training plan only called for 8 miles that day, so I walked the first mile and ran the rest, walking through the water stops.  Since this was my first 15k, it’s an automatic PR!

Post-15k shot, on the way to Starbucks for a PSL!
Post-15k shot, on the way to Starbucks for a PSL!

I did tape my left shin for both the triathlon and the 15k, just as a precaution.  Since I injured it last year, there’s an aching sensation sometimes.  I also had a little knee stiffness, but nothing that lots of foam rolling and massage stick-ing can’t fix!  I’m really excited for this round of race training!

26.2, here we come!

Leave a Reply

