Parties

A Birthday Tale

I recently turned 21.  Though I was cautioned not to, I had wayy to much fun (if that’s even possible).  I celebrated for nearly a week with lots of people that I love.  I had a few specific wishes, and lots of unplanned and exciting adventures.

Wish 1: Playdate with Bella.  She came over for a few hours the night before my birthday. We played in the rain and mud, since nothing screams “I’m a classy 20-something!” like getting coated up to my knees in red mud.

Wish 2: Birthday miles.

Pre-run selfie.  The brighter the better is my rule, so matching is for the birds.
Pre-run selfie. The brighter the better is my rule, so matching is for the birds.

On my birthday morning, I hit two different trails in my neighborhood. This actually involved a good bit of mud too. It was a beautiful 80-degree morning with 3.5 miles of trail-running bliss.

Wish 3: Big girl hair.  I went in for a trim, but after talking to my hairdresser (who is also my friend and fellow camp counselor!), I ended up letting her cut off about 5 inches and give some shape and layers to my hair.  I have a cute little ponytail now, and I can blow-dry and straighten in under 10 mins.

After my run and haircut, I went shopping with my mom and sister.  We headed to Shreveport and I got a new outfit for dinner and fulfilled wish 4: new reads.

Books, books, books!
Books, books, books!

I’ve already finished Kisses from Katie and highly recommend it!

After shopping, we went back home to get dressed for dinner.  I selected The Blind Tiger in downtown Shreveport, so we picked up my grandma and headed back into town.  Dinner was delicious, and then Mom surprised me with this:

Turtle cheesecake. Too fabulous for words.
Turtle cheesecake. Too fabulous for words.

We all had a slice and gave one to our very grateful waitress.  By far one of the best slices of cheesecake I’ve ever had and I really had no idea Mom had ordered it! (If you’re in the Shreveport/Bossier area, it’s from White Box Bakery!

I also taught my grandma about taking selfies.
I also taught my grandma about taking selfies.

Downtown Shreveport has a lot of history and some neat places to take pictures.  Olivia and I picked one of the fun walls and had a little photo shoot as the sun set.

IMG_5648

Saturday morning, it was time for wish 5: a trip to Baton Rouge to celebrate with the people I love down there.

Just can't stay away.
Just can’t stay away.

I walked into my apartment to the sound of cheers and found a pile of gifts on my bed! After a lazy afternoon, we got dressed at went to Superior Grill for dinner.

Em, me, Hannah, and Caroline.
Em, me, Hannah, and Caroline.
Julie, Madeline (on her tiptoes), and me
Julie, Madeline (on her tiptoes), and me
Dylan and me. She kindly drove us all to dinner while we sang loudly and put on all her sunglasses. I gave her a $0.50 tip!
Dylan and me. She kindly drove us all to dinner while we sang loudly and put on all her sunglasses. I gave her a $0.50 tip!
Me and Brennan
Me and Brennan
We <3 selfies!
We ❤ selfies!

 

Dinner was wonderful and full of laughter and great food.  These are the girls I’ve known since the beginning of college, some of the first friends I made when I started at LSU. College would have been far less exciting without them. The celebration went on well into the night and was a fabulous hoo-rah before they started summer school and I came home for the summer.

Sunday was church and napping and Fuzzy’s taco salads.  Monday morning, I saw everyone off to school and then headed back north.

Tuesday night was sleepover time! Three of my childhood friends came over. I cooked dinner (chicken salad, fruit salad, and chocolate-covered strawberries!), and we watched Pretty Little Liars and just caught up and told stories. We haven’t all been in one place in a long time and know way too much about each other to ever stop being friends.

Senior prom, c/o 2010.
Senior prom, c/o 2010.

Case in point: These are the friends that remind you of the terrible boy you had a crush on when you were 14. Thankfully my tastes have changed, but they’ll never let me live it down! The sleepover was a lot like when we were little, but no drama or crying and everyone got up and went to work in the morning. (Uh, is this getting old?!)

 

My week of celebrating was better than I could have ever dreamed! Though I sometimes feel split between two cities or cut off from my friends in whatever city I’m not in, I felt so very loved on my birthday. These friends are the ones I want around for a very long time. I think 21 is going to be an incredible year.  I cannot even begin to imagine what adventures await!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

