Cooking

April Showers

7086815377_92173521ed_z

Does anyone else remember the saying “April Showers bring May Flowers”? I remember making flower and umbrella crafts in my gifted class in elementary school, because we did an April Showers and May Flowers bulletin board each Spring.  I say this as it’s currently pouring, with lots of loud thunder claps.  I made it to my car in time to miss the rain, but the downpour started just in time for me to have to go from my car to my apartment.  I sat for a few minutes, then made a dash for it!

My April challenge was to make four new recipes this month.  I successfully complete this challenge (and also continued with no-makeup), but I have zero pictures to prove it. And I lost the links I used for each of the recipes.  The links would be kind of irrelevant anyway, since I make my own tweaks on every recipe (I am my mother’s daughter).

The first recipe I made was a lemon tilapia filet.  It was delicious! I paired it with a strawberry/feta/spinach salad with local raspberry balsamic vinaigrette and it was a fabulous meal.

The second recipe was eggplant parmesan.  I had roasted eggplant in a salad a few weeks before, and wanted to try to make it for myself.  It turned out really well, and even my roommate who initially turned her nose up ended up trying it!

The third recipe was oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  I wanted to bake for my Bible study group, and had all the ingredients on hand.  I didn’t think they were very good, but everyone else seemed to like them and I had none left over.

The fourth and final new recipe was a super simple fruit dip.  I made it up myself, with some inspiration from Alex and Pinterest.  I mixed two 6oz. cartons of plain Greek yogurt with several generous scoops of PB2 (amazing if you haven’t tried it before!), a scoop of real peanut butter and a dash of cinnamon. I took it to our end of semester party at work and it was a hit.

I haven’t drawn my May challenge yet, but depending on what it is, may have to wait until after finals.  Happy Dead Week and Finals to everyone!

Leave a Reply

