Uncategorized

Never Stop Running

A lot of things have been said since the bombings at the finish of the Boston Marathon on Monday.  I certainly have many thoughts on the matter, but don’t feel like I have the eloquence to say them.  I was following the race already, to track my favorite elites and some runners I know through social media, so I was able to “see” things happening in real time on Twitter.  The running community is such an amazing one, and I am proud to be a part of it.  My first thought was shock; I couldn’t believe someone would attack such a celebration of hard work.  I wanted to run Boston before this week’s events, and now I want more than ever to qualify and run the Boston Marathon one day.  I’ve taken some time off running since my last half, but Tuesday morning, I wanted nothing more than to run.  It was a short run, but a great one.  Following a Facebook event created by a man in Texas, I dedicated Wednesday’s run to the victims of the attack.

#Run4Boston
#Run4Boston

A few days ago, I saw a post from Claim Your Journey on Instagram, about an event here, Baton Rouge Runs for Boston.  So this morning, I dug out some blue and yellow and headed downtown to meet Kayla and Jenny to run 2.62 miles with some of the Baton Rouge running community.  There were so many people! It was amazing to see.  We heard from the Lieutenant Governor, and from the teams from BR that ran the Boston Marathon on Monday.

IMG_5270

More people than I could fit in a photo!
More people than I could fit in a photo!

After a moment of silence and a prayer, we ran. I didn’t get to run the whole course because I was also signed up for another event: the Geaux Teal Ovarian Cancer Walk, put on by the LSU Softball team. The turnout was also wonderful! We heard from survivors, and a woman who lost her daughter to ovarian cancer.  We learned about knowing the signs for ovarian cancer, and how it’s only treatable if caught in the early stages.  Over $16,000 was raised for ovarian cancer research! After a prayer and some pictures, the walk began.

I was a little bit hyped up from my earlier run, so I sprinted the first half-mile or so with Dylan, until my mind got the best of me and I let her go on.  (She’s tall and fast, so I’m working on talking her into pacing me for speed workouts!) I jogged back towards Alex, and we walked a bit with some of her other teammates.  When we got closer to the end, Laney wanted to run, so I ran with her to the end.  I forgot how good it feels to go fast!

Dyl and me after the walk!
Dyl and me after the walk!
Me and Bou!
Me and Bou!
Simone and Bou!
Simone and Bou!

The running community and culture is really like no other.  I have to say again how proud I am to be a part of it.  I used to have a hard time calling myself a runner, but I am!  I am a runner, and I will keep running and keep racing.  I cannot wait to begin training for my first marathon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

