Travel

City Lights, Manhattan Nights

What I didn’t mention in my post about disaster relief was that we also got to spend two evenings in Manhattan! The first night, we had tickets to see Phantom of the Opera at the Majestic on Broadway.  Everyone got showered and ready, then we drove to the Staten Island Ferry terminal.  The show was at 8, and we needed to catch the 6:30 ferry.  We all missed that one, then my van also missed the 7pm ferry, by just 5 minutes.  The other two vans caught the 7pm, and made it to the show right on time.  We caught the 7:30, got off just before 8, and ran to the subway station.  The ticket office had told us that they would seat us if we made it by 8:30 – and we got there at 8:28!  They weren’t terribly pleased, but seated us anyway.  The Phantom was just taking Christine away for the first time, and I sat enamored for the rest of the show. This was my second show on Broadway, and it was amazing.  We were literally in the top row, but it didn’t matter. The music and singing and stage design were great.

And we took more than a few selfies on the subway…

560707_4410565941470_1007088895_n
Brennan!
KayKay!
KayKay!
Sarah!
Sarah!

Our second night, we were just given several hours in the city to do whatever we wanted. I almost didn’t go, because I had only had a few hours of sleep the night before, but ended up going.  I’m glad I did! Once we took the ferry across, we walked up to Wall Street to see their Christmas decorations, then over to the 9/11 Memorial and Trinity Church.  From there, we jumped on the subway to head uptown.

Bryant Park!
Bryant Park!

First stop: Bryant Park! I had never been, but some friends who had been in the city the week before highly recommended it.  There were dozens of little shops, and I would have been content to spend the rest of the evening wandering there.  Also, the New York Public Library was right next to the park, and it looked beautiful.  I wish I could have gone in!

I was “leading” our little group that night, since I was the only one who had been in the city before, and I knew how the subway worked.  I was a little nervous that I would get us lost, but it all worked out grand!

We were super hungry at this point, so we walked towards Rockefeller Center.  To have more time to see the sights, we got gyros from a street vendor.  They were super yummy!

Ordering dinner from a street vendor!
Ordering dinner from a street vendor!

The crowds were shoulder to shoulder to see the Rockefeller tree, so we took a few pictures, but didn’t stay long.

Rockefeller Center!
Rockefeller Center!

From there we headed to a place I had only heard about, then forgotten about until I saw it:

My mouth is watering just thinking about it!
My mouth is watering just thinking about it!

Magnolia Bakery! The place had a line to the door, and it’s a place even the locals love.  A couple of us got some desserts to share and they were great. I highly recommend visiting if you’re ever in Manhattan!

Why yes, I do have two boxes in my hand. Don't judge!
Why yes, I do have two boxes in my hand. Don’t judge!
Red Velvet with whipped cream cheese icing, and a ROCKETTE ON TOP!!
Red Velvet with whipped cream cheese icing, and a ROCKETTE ON TOP!!

I got the red velvet to eat the next day.  It was a delicious treat for the next day.

We went from the bakery to Times Square, with a stop in the M&M store. I like to go in there, because I feel like everything has my initial on it ;)!

The yellow M&M, dressed as an elf.  We got a picture after he stole my cupcake and ran around the store.
The yellow M&M, dressed as an elf. We got a picture after he stole my cupcake and ran around the store.

And of course we got the classic pictures in Times Square!

Loved touring the city with these lovely ladies!
Loved touring the city with these lovely ladies!

It was super cold that night, so I had on lots of layers, and feel like I look bulky! Ha.

I enjoyed being something of a tour guide for the evening! We caught the ferry back to Staten Island and slept hard that night.

As always, I loved New York City at Christmastime! I’m glad we got to see some sights while we were there working.

Leave a Reply

