Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday: Football, Freshmen, and Home!

I missed Thankful Thursday last week since I went to see NEEDTOBREATHE, but this week I’m back! My time here at LSU is going fast, so I’m glad I carve out time each week to think about what I’m thankful for.  Here goes!

I’m thankful for fun football games with friends! (And alliterations, apparently). Last Saturday night in Death Valley was the most fun football game I’ve been to in a long time.  The Tigers woke up and played an awesome game against USC. To top it off, I was in the 3rd row of the student section, surrounded by friends.

The band got up close and personal, we got soaked from thrown drinks after the last touchdown, and I was hoarse the next day.  Such fun!

I’m thankful that I am surrounded by godly women. Between my mom, sister, aunts, cousins, grandmothers, friends, roommates, mentors, and teachers, I find myself in the company of some great, godly women on a daily basis.  They pour into my life words of love and encouragement. We cry together, and laugh together, and do life together.

I’m thankful that I get to love on freshmen. I’ve talked about it before on here, but one of my “jobs” is to be the ministry coordinator for freshmen at the Baptist Collegiate Ministry.  And I love it! I really just enjoy listening to them and getting to know them. They’ve got so much to teach me, and this year is shaping up to be a great one.

I’m thankful to be headed home tomorrow! Today and tomorrow was supposed to be fall break, but it got canceled because of Hurricane Isaac.  Two of my three classes got canceled for tomorrow, so I’m headed home, with a stop in Natchitoches for lunch with some old friends.

Leave a Reply

