Faith · Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday: Simply Thankful.

My heart has been heavy this week. A tragedy in my hometown resulted in the loss of a talented 15-year old boy, leaving his family with a lot of emotional and physical healing. It’s been one of those weeks where it’s been hard to be so far away from the town and church community that I still love so much. I ache for the loss.  It’s one of those pieces of news that will never make sense this side of heaven. But in loss, we can’t forget to keep living.  So today, I am thankful for so much.  I’m thankful that God’s mercies are new every morning, because I certainly mess up every single day. I’m thankful that He holds true to the promise that all things work together for the good of those who love Him – 11 youth made decisions to accept Christ at a prayer/memorial service last night.  I’m thankful for the community I’ve found here in Baton Rouge. I’m thankful for friends who are willing to listen to me talk about the hurt I’m feeling, and a mom who makes sure I stay up-to-date with information back home.  I’m thankful that we have the assurance that Matthew lived for Christ and is walking with him in heaven now.

Today, I’m simply thankful to have had another day to live in the light of God’s grace and mercy.

Leave a Reply

