Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday: football, snocones, and bike mishaps!

Today (and this past week really) has been another batch of adventures! I’m rarely lacking in days like that, with my charming awkwardness and tendency to try silly things. We’re back at Thursday again, and that means…Thankful Thursday!

I’m thankful football season has started! There really isn’t much like a Saturday night in Death Valley with 92,000 of your closest friends.  If there’s one thing LSU does well, it’s team spirit.  Football kicked off against the University of North Texas last Saturday night.  After a some tailgating at the BCM, we went into the student section about 3 hours before kickoff.  The game wasn’t really that thrilling, but there’s just something about singing “Calling Baton Rouge” at the top of your lungs! (Yes, I’m listening to it now!)

Love Purple, Live Gold!

Thanks to contraflow, it took 1 1/2 hours to get back to our apartment complex after the game, but that was a car ride filled with music and laughter as well!

I’m thankful for those bike racks on the front of the Tiger Trails buses. I got my bike tire fixed earlier this week, and today was the first day to ride my bike to school.  I got less than halfway there, and somehow messed up the chain.  Emily says I’m in need of “bike skills.” I didn’t want to risk being really late for work, so I walked (pushing my bike) the rest of the way.  I parked that thing as soon as I got to campus, and put it on the dandy bus bike rack to come home this afternoon.  We’re having bike lessons this weekend if anyone’s interested.

I’m thankful for a forgiving boss! While I generally run about 5-7 mins late to work, I’ve never been 15 mins late. She was worried, not angry, when I came in this morning.  Since I was a little embarrassed at the whole ordeal, I was glad she wasn’t angry with me!

I’m thankful for snocones on a hot day. No need to elaborate there.

I’m thankful for classes with friends! Even though I’ve been doing this college thing for a while now, it takes a little stress off my day when I know I’m going to see a familiar, friendly face in each of my classes.

I’m thankful for a body that can run. I’ve probably used this one before, but it’s so true.  There are lots of people with bodies that can’t run, or do a lot of things that I can do. I take that for granted sometimes, but it’s really hit me the past few days, as I ease back into half-marathon training again.

I’m thankful for friends who are encouraging. College, and being away from home in general, would be a lot harder without the solid, faith-based friendships I’ve formed along the way.

Nothing more fitting here than a lyric from “Friends”!!

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

