Camp Fuego · Faith

Oh, Wreck My Heart

Week 3 of Camp Fuego, our speaker was Marty Collier.  A man clearly anointed by God, he wasted no time in laying out the truth of the Word. He challenged every type of student: the ones on fire for God, the ones raised in church but numb, and the ones who knew very little of God’s love.  One evening, he gathered the staff before worship and told us what he had planned for the night.  Each student was going to receive an old-fashioned paper receipt.  He was going to challenge them to write their struggles on the receipt, then come up to the stage, stamp the word PAID on it, and leave it there. Walk away, knowing that Jesus’ death and resurrection paid the price for their sins. I sat towards the back that night and watched. It was beautiful. Many students made decisions to give or rededicate their lives that night, and I know that there was quite the celebration in Heaven.

Marty played a music video while the students were writing on their receipts.  At first, I thought it was another cheesy lyric video, but then I listened. The lyrics to the song resounded within my soul. It’s one of those songs that you can listen to over and over and over again, and it can impact you every. single. time.  It’s become one of the most played songs in my iTunes, and I wanted to share it.  I hope it impacts you as much as it has me and the rest of the staff.

…Anything I put before my God is an idol.
Anything I want with all my heart is an idol.
Anything I can’t stop thinking of is an idol.
Anything that I give all my love is an idol.
We must not worship something that’s not even worth it.
Clear the stage and make some space for the one who deserves it.

Cause I can sing all I want to.
Yes I can sing all I want to
I can sing all I want to
And still get it wrong, worship is more than a song…

Here’s a post that another staffer wrote about the cumulative results of those receipts: Even If You Don’t Have Your Act Together…

And another written by another staffer, about how God broke his heart in Bethany, LA: Loving As I Once Longed To Be Loved

 

 

Leave a Reply

