Faith

Restoration

In the last two weeks of camp, God moved more than we could have ever asked or imagined.  We, as a staff, were able to counsel students through some very real issues.  I went into every conversation with no idea as to what I would say to the young student sharing with me.  Every time, God provided the words to say, and a prayer as well.  I certainly couldn’t have handled it on my own. When we met as a staff each night, I realized that I was not alone.  As the staff shared amazing blessings from the week, one thing was the same in every tale. We all came to realize that our struggles were worth it for the one student we could minister to. For me, this was the first time I understood this.  However, I know we all have had moments where we questioned our struggles.  Moments we wish that we had lived a life of less heartache.  The paths that led us all to Camp Fuego are very different, but all narrow and not without hard times.  I knew the verse in Romans that all things work together for the good of those who love God, but what about the lost time, the years that could have been spent telling about God’s love and mercy? A friend introduced me to a verse, found deep in a book I hadn’t read, that shows God’s promise about that lost time:

“I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten” Joel 2:25

What a promise this is! To me, it means that I can now use the lessons I’ve learned and struggles I’ve faced to come along side other girls and maybe provide a little encouragement, a bit of hope. That the blessings ahead will make up for the heartache ten times over. I know the heartache will never end, this side of heaven, but living every day in the joy of God and the saving grace of Jesus means that not another day has to go to waste.  I’m not very good at putting all these thoughts into words, but I hope this made a little sense. And I do know this much: What an amazing God I serve!

One thought on “Restoration

Leave a Reply

