Faith

Redemption

Last week at camp, I turned to one of the other girls on staff and simply asked, “What’s your story?” Having never met me before being on staff together the last two weeks, she seemed a little surprised by the question. I explained that I simply wanted to know her better as a friend and sister in Christ.  Satisfied by that answer, she began to tell her story.  The fact that she shared with me, trusting that I would not view her any differently after, was by far one of the best compliments I have ever received.  As she told me about the darkness that had previously surrounded her life, all I could think was that this was a beautiful tale of redemption and the mercy of God. Her past was full of addictions, peer pressure, and unhealthy relationships. Yet, here she was, full of unmistakeable joy and spending her summer ministering to students.  God’s grace and mercy redeemed her, and have allowed her to be able to use her story to relate to the students.  She could see now that everything she had been through, though it was quite a storm at the time, was worth it.  God’s word promises this to everyone – my story, her story, and everyone else with a story that includes finding Jesus, we all have the beauty that is redemption.  Isn’t it wonderful?

For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.  Colossians 1:13-14

One thought on “Redemption

Leave a Reply

