Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday: Birthday edition!

Taking a break from the Nica posts to write a Thankful Thursday. This Thankful Thursday post is special for a couple reasons.  First, it’s my first Thankful post since before Nica. Second, today is my 20th birthday! I’ve officially departed the teenage years. What better day than today to talk about what I’m thankful for?

I’m thankful for my health.  Broad, yes, but something I take for granted all to often. Sure I’m prone to scrapes and bumps, but my overall health is superb.  I stretched my legs for a nice pre-breakfast run this morning. My heart and lungs were working great, doing everything I asked.  I have friends who wonder every day if their body is going to fail them, but that’s not a concern of mine.  For that, I am thankful.

I’m thankful for my crazy family.  Yes, they’re loud and crazy and we don’t always get along, but at the end of the day, we’re family.

I’m thankful I had the opportunity to go to Nicaragua. I would not have been able to go if not for the outpouring of love and generosity from friends and family.  The trip was incredible, eye-opening, and I loved every minute of it.  I made some amazing new friends, learned about medicine, and knew I was exactly where God wanted me to be.

A few sweet kiddos from the El Crucero Divino Rostro Orphanage!

I’m thankful for my friends.  Friends I’ve known for 15 years, friends I’ve known for less than a year, new friends from my travels, roommates, all of them have played a large part in the sometimes-rough-but-always-exciting year I’ve had. I can’t wait to spend another year getting to know the friends I have better, and making new friends along the way! After all, we’re remembered most for the relationships we leave behind.

Just a short and sweet Thankful Thursday today! I’ve got to find a little makeup to wear (mom’s request!) and get ready for a late lunch.  What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

