Faith

He’s not done with me yet!

Oftentimes, just when I think I am making great strides in being a fruit-bearing Christian, I am given a sharp reminder that God isn’t done with me yet, and I have a long way to go. In the last week, I have had two conversations that have continued to replay over and over in my mind.  In each one, I have had what I considered at the time to be great conversation, only to walk away and realize that while I rambled on about me, I never stopped to ask the other person how they were doing, or what was going on in their life. Part of my incessant chatter may stem from my fear of awkward pauses in conversation, but it mainly comes from my sinful and selfish nature. As someone who plans to spend my life ministering to the physical and spiritual needs of people, I have a long way to go. I have been convicted lately that I just how much I have to learn when it comes to realizing the needs of others.

In Christ alone, I can work towards being less selfish and more self-less. I know it is nothing I can do on my own. So this week (and each and every week after), my goal is to listen more and speak less. Interrupting and talking only of myself is not how love is shown. In that, I am thankful that God is not finished with me yet – He will not let me remain in my sinful and selfish ways, but convict me in areas of my life that need work.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility value others above yourself, looking not to your own interests, but to the interests of others.” Philippians 2:3-4

Leave a Reply

