Physical Fitness

RnRNola Weekend: the nerves have hit!

I woke up this morning and the nerves hit me like a ton of bricks. Butterflies in my tummy and a pounding heart remind me that tomorrow morning, I will be at the start line of the longest race/distance I have ever run. I know I won’t be able to sleep tonight, and I’ve already barely been able to eat this morning. I didn’t think I would be this nervous! I’ve logged over 250 training miles in the last six months. Physically, I’m ready. I just have to keep reminding myself of that! I’ve heard that the crowd support for this race is phenomenal, and I know of a few cheerleaders I’ll have out on the course. I hope I’m able to find/hear them!

We are about an hour from New Orleans, so we’re being good girls and studying this morning and heading over after lunch. This race really couldn’t have fallen at a worse time, since next week is midterms, so I’m glad I committed last semester, before I had my schedule for this semester. Anyone willing to run next to me and quiz me on music terms and physics formulas?? Anyone?

The weather looks like it will be in the 60s and sunny, which is pretty good running weather. I’ve made a note to pack my sunscreen, because it’s way too early in the year for sunburns! I have my outfit planned, including sparkly things to wear. Sparkles make you faster, I hear.

My goal for this race: FINISH. I’ve never done anything like this ever before, which means it will be an automatic personal best. It’s time to get back at the studying, so I can rest a little easier this evening. Good luck to everyone running!!

One thought on “RnRNola Weekend: the nerves have hit!

Leave a Reply

