Physical Fitness

Getting back in the swing of things!

Whew, what a week it has been! Things are running in full gear around here, since labs have all started this week. This means, as a science major, that I spend up to 22 hours a week in class, while only getting 16 hours of credit. Not fair if you ask me! Throw in 8 hours of work, two supplemental instruction sessions, and meetings, I’ve got a full plate. It’s tough some days, like yesterday when I left my apartment at 7:30 in the morning and got back at 10 pm, with little downtime in between. My phone died about 4pm, which was nice and annoying at the same time. (Sorry for worrying you mom!) By the time I got in last night, I could’t keep my eyes open long enough for a Thankful Thursday post. I forgot how exhausting school could be.

My life lately.

Thankfully, today was a short day – one class at 7:30 and another at 9:30 and I was done for the day. I brought my computer and books and worked on Spanish and Physics homework until BJ treated us to lunch in the dining hall. Good times have been had in that dining hall!

After Em and I FINALLY finished our physics with minimal Yahoo Answers help, I took a short yet wonderful nap. Then we dragged our rears off the couch and went to campus to run a lap around the LSU lakes. It was a beautiful afternoon, with lots of people walking, running, and riding. We even saw the rowing team, and a wedding! As we stretched before starting off, we see theses four girls carrying canoes from the UREC to the lake, with the help of a guy.  One of them was wearing jeans, with another in nice tennis shoes. We stretched a little longer just to see how things were going to turn out.  They got the first two girls off in a canoe, then looked a little confused as to how they were going to get the second boat in. We gave them a push off, nearly tipping the entire thing in the process, but no one landed in the water! I have no idea how they planned to get out of the water however, since that usually requires someone getting out of the boat to pull the canoe up.

Our canoeing friends chugging along nicely.

Once that exciting adventure was behind us, we started off. Stew and Em are much faster than me, and had no shame in leaving me in the dust. I was good to run by myself, just to hear my breathing and let my thoughts flow. After about twenty minutes, I got this awful side stitch. Running caused me to double over, so I walked for five minutes, breathing deeply to get it to go away. I’m thinking the ice cream I had at lunch wasn’t my best idea. Once I finally got that worked out, I was able to run the last two miles without stopping. I certainly couldn’t do that a few months ago! Em and Stew were waiting for me with goofy smiles at the end. God painted us a wonderful sunset as we finished our run. I really feel bad for people who don’t have a campus with beauty like this.

Photo stolen from Em's Tweeter.

After deciding we didn’t want to cook for dinner, we sat on the couch for a while until we finally decided to go eat at Fat Cow, a burger and salad place. Stew showered, and Em and I just washed our faces and put on some extra deodorant, which totally grossed Stew out.  I, however, didn’t see a problem with it. I think we looked hardcore and fit. We didn’t smell bad, promise. Alex came home right before we left, so we had a nice roomie night out.

This isn't my picture. I dove right in to my food immediately. I don't see how food bloggers do it!

Source.

I didn’t even finish all my food, but it was soooo good!  It was quite an indulgence, but we just called it refueling/carboloading for our two hour run tomorrow. Wish us luck!

 

One thought on “Getting back in the swing of things!

Leave a Reply

