Physical Fitness

A good run!

After my terrible, awful, no good run the other day, I took a day off to rest and stretch. I’m not quite ready for the early (5 am) runs that I had last semester, so I made plans with my good friend Madeline to meet at the LSU lakes around 3. I only had class until 1030, so I was able to get some school work done before time to run. Yay for Spanish and Music Appreciation! Em came in from work around 2, so she joined us.  It was an absolutely beautiful day for a run! There were lots of people out running, walking, and biking. We started off slow, then Em took off and Madeline and I maintained a slow and steady pace. We took two walk breaks early on, and I was feeling some heaviness in my legs.  At the 22 minute mark, we took off. It was like I broke through a barrier, and I just felt strong. We ran the rest of the way and it felt great! That was 24 solid minutes of running, at about an 11 minute pace. I don’t know that I’ve ever run like that, and it felt amazing. At the end of the run, I felt good. Not worn out, or near death, or disappointed, or any of the other terrible feelings I’ve had post-run.

Yay for good runs!

 

And while we're on the topic, here's my plank yesterday! Working my way to some abs of steel.

 

I enjoyed getting to catch up with Maddles and get an awesome workout in. Days like today, with good classes, great scenery and opportunities, and amazing friends, makes me so grateful to be here at LSU. “It’s the kind of place that will get in your blood and stay forever.”

Leave a Reply

