Goals

On Cleaning Out.

Today was the day. I’ve been planning today for at least a week now. I was pumped, I was going to finally do something that I had been itching to do since I’ve been home.  What was that you ask? Clean out my bedroom.  When you live in a place (or semi-live there) for 16 years, you acquire a lot of stuff. As someone who likes to shop, loves to read, and has cravings to create, I have untold of amounts of books, clothes, and art supplies. I’m talking a dresser, a chest of drawers, a closet, and a couple of shelves worth of this stuff.  I started with formal dresses, picking two to keep and setting aside the other 4 to donate to a local charity for girls who can’t otherwise afford prom dresses. I then worked from right to left across my closet (because it’s sectioned by clothing type), going through each and every piece. If I’ve worn it in the last year, keep. If it doesn’t fit or is outdated, put in the donate/consignment shop pile. After that task was complete, my closet contents were cut nearly in half. And I don’t miss any of it.

The next step was shoes, then the rest of my clothes. Similar process. I pulled all the drawers out and spread them across my living room so I could get a good idea of what all there was. Let’s just say I don’t need to buy socks, pajamas, or workout clothes for another 5-10 years. Somewhere in the middle of it, I just got overwhelmed by just how much stuff I have. I’ve been so blessed. There’s a recliner completely covered in items to donate/sell and I can promise that I will not miss a single thread of it, that’s how much I still have. I’m not going to post any pictures of it, because frankly, I’m a little embarrassed.  I am not of this world; this is not my permanent home.  Instead of storing up treasures on earth, I should be storing up treasures in Heaven. I don’t think that having nice clothes and plenty of books to read is a bad thing, I just have to be careful be prideful and become attached to my stuff.  Because that’s all it is! God clothes the lilies of the field, I know he will always take care of me, his child. No need to be attached to this, because tomorrow I could be called to go across the world and leave it all behind.

Cleaning out today was more than a good thing, it was a needed thing. It makes for a sweet reminder of the greatness of God, as well as a simplified feeling going into the new year. Oh yeah, and a good start to #6 on my goals list!

I am blessed!

One thought on “On Cleaning Out.

Leave a Reply

