Goals

2012 Goals and Resolutions!

My mom and I quietly rang in the new year last night.  I had been asked to work at a fireworks stand, but that fell through at the very last minute. We watched Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve and planned our summer vacation (beach trip!). Since we’re an hour behind New York, after the ball dropped, we watched some country music celebration out in Las Vegas, and then went to a local fireworks show at 12:15. I then stayed up until two a.m. watching old episodes of the Biggest Loser.  I’m quite the party animal, I know. As someone fairly new to the blogging world, this is the first time ever that I’ll be putting my New Year’s resolutions in writing.  Hopefully that will help me remember them and stick to them!

1. Spend time in God’s word every day, no exceptions. I have a day-by-day plan to read through the entire New Testament (plus some) this year, so that will keep me on track. I work well with a specific plan and this one isn’t intimidating as the plans to read through the entire Bible. That’s a goal for another year.

2. Love my body and care for my temple. My body is a temple, and I’ve been given the huge responsibility of caring for it. This includes shedding the extra pounds I carry, continuing to exercise regularly, and not putting junk in my body. This is probably my biggest goal. I am a pre-med student, and at some point this year, I realized that in order to one day be someone who advises people on health and wellness, I have to be healthy myself.

3. Do something that I’ve never done before. I have a few things in mind for this, but I’m not telling yet. This last year, I went ziplining, which was a stellar adrenaline rush. When it comes to adventures like that, my motto is that I never want to miss out on something because I was too scared to try it. Maybe I should shorten that to, “I’ll try anything once,” though a certain roommate of mine has pointed out some flaws in that one. (Update: This roommate just started her own blog. Check it out.)

4. Stay on the Dean’s List/Chancellor’s Honor Roll. This means taking at least 15 hours and maintaining a 3.5+ GPA. It also means a lot of hard work over the next two semesters. Yes, just two semesters, fall and spring. I’ve decided that I will never again take summer school classes as an undergrad. Last semester, I proved that I can pull a 4.0 in college, so the bar has been set. Bring it on physics!

5. Kick my sugar habit. I have a huge sweet tooth. I’ve been known to have frozen yogurt as a meal. I’m still not sure it’s not a meal, but I do plan to get rid of the need for some sort of sweet every day. I’m not going to completely banish sugar from my life though, because that would be setting myself up for failure. No specific plan for this yet, but I may start with the “No Junk Food 21 day Challenge” that I tested out back in October.

6. Give until I’m uncomfortable.  I’ve been very blessed to this point in my life, and I need to practice giving back. This means money, self, and possessions. I’m starting this tomorrow by cleaning out my very cluttered room. I have clothes that I have never taken to school, meaning I must not really plan to wear them any longer.

Here it is! I may add to this list later, but this is what I have for now. There are many big events coming up for me in 2012, and I’m excited about all of them.  I know I post mainly about running and physical fitness on this blog, but the title is to see me move, which includes running, but also means seeing me grow as a Christian, move through my coursework, and travel around the world. I also can’t wait to see what is in store for the year that I have no idea is coming.

What do you think of my goals? What are your goals for the year?

2 thoughts on “2012 Goals and Resolutions!

Leave a Reply

