Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday!

Yay for Thursdays!

I am thankful for celebrating birthdays with the family. Today is my baby sister’s 16th birthday.  She’s had her car for a few months, and got her license today, after the rain stopped.  It’s a little scary that she’s driving.  Actually, it isn’t her driving that’s scary, it’s her parking! She’ll learn as she keeps driving. We had a nice family dinner of shrimp pasta, garlic bread, and salad. I was given the task of making the birthday cake since I was the one home today. I made it – two layer red velvet cake with cream cheese icing and a cake crumb heart on top.  After some disastrous past cooking fiascos, I was very glad that this was edible, and they even liked it!

I am thankful for sleeping in. Yesterday, I broke my lazy streak and went to work with my mom, but I made up for lost time today by sleeping until 11.  I plan to let myself have a few more lazy days, then it will be time to actually be productive (ha! We’ll see if this actually happens. I’ll let you know.) I had actually forgotten that my body could sleep for 12 hours, be awake for 12 hours, then repeat the process.

I am thankful for a warm bed, a roof over my head, and food to eat. This time last year, I was serving the homeless of New York City at The Bowery mission.  To say it changed me is an understatement! I received much more than I gave, that’s for sure. Due to a late flight, we arrived at the mission about 1 am. The first thing I remember seeing was men and women lining the floor of the chapel and dining room. They were sleeping on mats or their backpacks, grateful not to be sleeping on the cold street. I was shocked. I had never seen anything like it. I had heard about it, I had seen the homeless during the day, but never seen it at night. I always knew that I had it pretty good in life, but this was an eye-opening experience that made me realize just how good life is, and that I can always give to those around me.

I am thankful that Jesus came humbly into this world to save the world. He is the reason for the season! This time of year is a sweet reminder of the promises that God fulfills and of His love for us.

What are you thankful for this time of year? 

Leave a Reply

