La. Marathon Training: Week 2

Other than some aches the day of the 15k, I recovered pretty quickly from my first long run.  I was grateful that Sunday was a rest day since I was driving back to BR that afternoon.  Once I drove in, I went straight to the softball fields to cheer on my friends in their fall tournament.  Monday morning came nice and early and I had another great week of training.  The only downside for this week was that KK was sick, leaving me to this by myself.

Sunday: Rest

Monday: 4×800 w/ 2min RI. Goal: 8:22.  5:17, 5:12, 5:13, 5:17.

Tuesday: 25 min cycle and weights.  I discovered that the UREC added individual tv’s to the cardio equipment, so I took the opportunity to get a dose of GMA while I biked.

Wednesday: 1 mile warmup, 5 mile tempo @ 12:59, 1 mile cool down.  I didn’t allow myself enough time, so this turned into a 1/4 mile warm up, 5 miles tempo, cool down as I made my way to the shower.  My overall average pace was 12:36, with my tempo miles ranging from 11:19 – 12:03.

Girls on the Run in the pm

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 25 min cycle and weights.  The plan was to substitute an easy 3 here, but GMA just drew me in!

Saturday: 9 beautiful miles in 1:55 (13:01 overall pace). My goal pace was actually 13:44, but that would require more walk breaks than I want to take!

Total miles: 17.8

Saturday wrapped up with an afternoon football game against Florida (LSU won 17-6!!), a 5th quarter, and an early bedtime.

Because normal is weird.

Because normal is weird.

The good: very little leg fatigue, completed all my workouts

The bad: That range on the tempo run! I’ve got to work on the “steady pace” running thing.

One thought on “La. Marathon Training: Week 2

Leave a Reply

